Picture
It seems really strange to imagine that just two months ago I was 10,000 miles away. 10,000 miles away from my mother, my friends, and everything I have grown to know of as home. It was a mere two months ago that I flew home in a daze to say my final goodbye to my mother, my god how the time flew. I find it incredibly hard to believe that two months ago my mother's life rested somewhere between tangibility and nothingness, but the truth of the matter is that in these past two months I have been given a second chance to show her just how important she is to me, she on the other hand has been given a second chance to live, to love, and to thrive.
     A few days ago one of my brothers, one of my sisters, and I met with the staff at the nursing home that is taking care of my mom, we sat down in a quiet room with the door closed and talked about the next stage, it was in that room with the door closed that we were told that if her rapid recuperation persisted, that she would be able to go home in time for her birthday (which is March 25th). I have never in my life felt a larger weight lifted off of my shoulders!  I feel as though life may actually be able to continue on as normal, rather than just hanging out in this stagnant place that harbors dark, dreary days and unsure outcomes. Also, it seems important to note that spring is knocking, and that soon enough the sun will shine!

beth
2/21/2011 12:49:24 pm

i am so glad that it seems like the flowers are starting to peek up through the snow in your world. you worked hard for this and deserve a little sunshine

love you

Reply
Nicole
2/21/2011 03:00:49 pm

Thank you Beth

Reply
jen
2/23/2011 01:37:21 pm

I really don't know what to say. I know how beautiful of a person your mother is and now I know where you get your resilience from. Happy spring!

Reply
12/29/2011 10:19:34 pm

will be restored soon

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.